The Reference Object In The Image

In the previous tutorial, Charley, other classmates and I had discussed the black character shapes I used in the images. Their suggestion is that the black human shapes are flat, which is not in harmony with the three-dimensional style in the picture. Secondly, the narration of the human shape is too straightforward. Maybe I can replace it with some other things, such as chairs or plants.

Here before, I want to explain why I want to use a reference object. Because I want to expand the contradictory and unlogic characteristics of impossible objects, and, create a seemingly harmonious but creepy feeling. The sense of harmony can be conveyed through composition and color itself. But the so-called sense of bizarreness is generated by a reference object, which reacts, communicates and makes a comparison with the impossible object in the scene. In this way, it makes the impossible objects that look like real three-dimensional geometries in the image to have size, weight, and function to some extent.

Indeed, I agree that the black character element is not suitable in the image. Therefore, I’ve done some research on it. I believe that one of the most important standards of a reference object is to be a simple shape so that it would not be too obvious.
The words ‘… spheres, geometrically perfect figures…’ by Salvador Dalí inspired me. My understanding is that the outline of the sphere is so simple so that artists can give it any meaning in their own artworks. Meanwhile, audiences can imagine it as any other thing. In other words, the shape, size, and weight of a sphere are easy to be redefined, be ignored as well.

Related research at: https://freyainual.home.blog/2019/10/17/research-on-the-sphere-in-artworks/

 

 

Leave a comment